LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Upcycled Jewelry Organizers

on July 30, 2012

I have a confession to make – there is a LOT of jewelry in my house. I may even qualify as a jewelry hoarder. Not only do I make tons of it, I believe that I’ve kept almost all of the jewelry I’ve owned since my teen years. Don’t get any heist ideas. It’s overwhelmingly costume.

My bedroom is home to more than 5 but less than 10 jewelry boxes and organizers. Here’s the problem – with the jewelry put away all nice and neat, I forget what I have (I recognize this sounds ridiculous!) and always seem to be wearing the same pieces.  With the help of Chad, I’ve moved beyond organizing into displaying my jewelry.

My first unconventional displayer was a 3D metal Christmas tree Chad found at a discount store.

I loved my jewelry tree! Note the use of past tense. Once we got Kiko, I had to quit using it because she loved it, too. Pulling necklaces off the branches was her favorite game for a couple of days. I couldn’t figure out a place to put the tree that would both keep it out of her reach and still make it accessible for me, so into the attic it went.

Last summer, Chad found a picture of Sarahndipities’ rake hanger and made one for me. He took the handle off of a rake and attached the head to a wall in our bedroom. The placement is perfect. It hangs close to my vanity BUT out of the reach of kitty paws.

The rake provided a solution for necklaces and bracelets, but I still needed something for earrings, particularly my paper ones. Chad first found me a large, window screen. Although it’s certainly functional, it lacks in beauty. Chad then remembered seeing oversized, framed screens in our attic. With a little bit of cleaning, they came out great. He hung one on the wall behind our bedroom door. This keeps it handy for me and hidden from the kitties when our bedroom door is open.

If you’re like me and always looking for more jewelry storage and display ideas, check out Babble’s post 8 Unique DIY Jewelry Organizers.


2 responses to “Upcycled Jewelry Organizers

  1. Ummm…this is freakin’ genius, Amanda! Here’s a sentence I never thought I would utter: I’ll be installing rake heads (I use them to hold my wine glasses, but never thought of them as jewelry holders) and screens in my bathroom next weekend. Brilliant!

Leave a comment