LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Paper Earrings Tutorial

on July 26, 2012

Of any jewelry that I make (and I make too much!), my paper earrings garner the most questions. I love these earrings because they are so lightweight, which means that I can wear them as big as I like without them hurting my ears. I make several variations of them, but this tutorial focuses on the most basic – my Mod Podge paper earrings. Although I’m calling them “basic,” they do require a fair amount of tools and techniques, so I’m objectively rating these as an advanced craft.

These earrings are a great example of a craft that can easily be adapted to anyone’s personal style. Fair warning – once you make your first pair, you might get addicted!

Supplies

  • Tray (optional)
  • Wax Paper
  • Scrapbook Paper (double-sided recommended)
  • Circle Punch
  • Mod Podge
  • Paintbrush
  • 1/8 in. Hole Punch
  • 1/8 in. Eyelets (2)
  • Eyelet Setter
  • Self-Healing Mat
  • 4 mm Jump Rings (2)
  • 6 mm Jump Rings (2)
  • Ear Wires (2)
  • Round Nose Pliers
  • Chain Nose Pliers

Step One

Cover your work surface with wax paper. Mod Podge and your future earrings won’t stick to it. I cover a tray with wax paper so that I can contain my mess and easily move it away from kitty paws if need be.

Step Two

With your circle punch, make two circles with your scrapbook paper. I like to use double-sided paper to make the finished product cute whether it’s coming or going, but that is totally up to you. I do recommend that you use a heavier paper or cardstock for this project. Flimsy paper is a pain to Mod Podge and more likely to crease when you wear them.

Step Three

Cover both paper circles with Mod Podge. Let them dry completely, about 15 minutes, and then Mod Podge the backside. Let them dry again and repeat until you have two coats of Mod Podge on each side of the paper.

Step Four

Make sure that both sides of your circles are completely dry. Use a 1/8 in. hole punch to make one hole in each earring.

Step Five

I like to set eyelets in my earrings to make sure that my jewelry findings don’t have a chance to tear the paper. Plus eyelets can add a fun little pop of color. If you choose not to use eyelets, skip down to Step Six. Place the 1/8 in. eyelet in the hole and use your setter to attach it to the paper circle. Do the same with the other paper circle.

Step Six

Using round nose and chain nose pliers, attach a 6mm jump ring to the paper circle through the eyelet or punched hole. Then attach a 4mm jump ring to the 6mm jump ring. With the 4mm jump ring still open, slide on the earring wire, and then close it. Do the same with the other paper circle. Voila! There you have your first pair of paper earrings.

Leave a Reply

