LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Braided Bead Bracelets

on August 14, 2012

Remember making friendships bracelets when you were a kid? I could knot a mean bracelet when I was a tween. For a lot of us, friendship bracelets were probably our first attempts at making our own jewelry. My adult self isn’t so interested in wearing the friendship bracelets of my youth, but I thought it would be cool to find an updated, funkier version of them.

Saved by Love Creations has a video tutorial for braided bead bracelets. Try to say that name three times fast! They take the concept of the simple braided bracelet and embellish it with pretty beads. When I saw these bracelets on Pinterest, I knew that they were just what I had been looking for. The video tutorial was very helpful, so much so that I had the technique figured out after watching it only once.

Because I already had some, I chose to use hemp for the cording. I have a good supply of “extra” beads leftover from past projects, so I decided to experiment with several different types. For the closures, I rifled through my stash of single beads and found some cool ones. I ended up with wooden, seed, glass, and metal braided bead bracelets.

To say that these bracelets were easy to make would be an understatement. As a matter of fact, they are less complicated than some friendships bracelets I used to make. This project is one that both adults and kids can complete and enjoy. You could certainly tailor the supplies to any age group. For kids, you might consider hemp and plastic beads. For adults, choose more sophisticated products. Saved by Love suggests using DMC Memory Thread for the cording, and I will definitely be trying that in the future. The possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

