LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Mardi Gras Bead Bracelets

on August 18, 2012

Living in New Orleans for four years leaves you with a lot of Mardi Gras beads. I’m always looking for ways to display them. You can find several glass pieces full of beads decorating our house.

Recently I’ve been searching for craft ideas using Mardi Gras beads. I came across a wrap bracelet tutorial video by Mark Montano. If you don’t know who he is, check him out! Not only was he my favorite designer on TLC’s While You Were Out, Mark also writes fabulous craft books.

The supplies for this project are super minimal: Mardi Gras beads, zip ties, ribbon, tape, and Fray Check/Super Glue. The tutorial, like all of Mark’s videos, is amazing. You should easily have the technique figured out after one or two views. I chose to wrap my bracelets twice to cover up more of the zip tie and tape. To get maximum coverage, I wrapped my bracelets both clockwise and counterclockwise.

These bracelets are the epitome of easy. No jewelry tools required! And they are absolutely darling. I see many of these bracelets stacked on my arm in the future. On his blog, Mark has pictures of a wrap bracelet party he hosted. I love how he prepped the supplies and decorated his table with them. These would make a wonderful girls night project or slumber party activity.


One response to “Mardi Gras Bead Bracelets

Leave a comment