LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Painted Acorn Caps

on September 28, 2012

After finishing my fall decor project from earlier in the week, I had acorns left over just begging to be used. I decided to stick with painting since my first attempts were so cute. Instead of keeping the acorns whole, I removed the caps and painted the insides only, leaving the tops natural. I again used acrylic craft paints, but I only gave a second coat to the orange acorn caps because they were the only ones that needed it.

I diverged from my earlier acorn painting technique again when it came to the sealing step. Previously I sprayed sealer onto my painted acorns. I had a ton of them to seal, so it was a great idea for that project. Because these were more delicate and I had fewer of them, I experimented with Mod Podge. The results are glossy and beautiful! The sheen from the Mod Podge adds some pizzazz that makes them look so special. One little, unfinished cap snuck into my photograph. It looks so dull next to the beautiful, shiny ones!

These lovely painted acorn caps will be a great addition to your fall decor. Display with them in a shallow bowl or a mason jar. I predict you’ll enjoy them so much that you’ll be back to acorn gathering in no time!

2 responses to “Painted Acorn Caps

  1. Such a cute idea. I don’t know what I am going to do with them, but I’ll figure that part out later, lol.

Leave a Reply

