LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Union Jack Cross Stitch Pattern

on August 11, 2012

Cross stitching was the first craft that I learned as a child. My mother signed me up for a class at the YMCA that was taught by the most wonderful woman. They wound up becoming best friends, and I found a love of stitching.

Like most hobbies, I go through phases when it appeals to me and times when it just really doesn’t. I mentioned in my Olympic Rings post that I particularly enjoy doing needlework during the Olympics. I think it makes me feel less guilty for watching so much tv!

This week I found a Union Jack pattern on Emma Broidery’s blog for DMC Threads and had to make it. She suggests using white Aida cloth, leaving only the red and blue parts of the flag to be stitched. I opted to use DMC Color Variations floss to jazz the piece up. Since the red and blue were going to be varied, I felt like I had to also stitch the white parts with a similar floss. I chose 4160, 4210, and 4240 for my three colors.

I adore the finished product. It’s great to have a little memento from this viewing of the Olympics. Plus I think it’s cool that I still find cross stitching interesting and fun after nearly 30 (gasp!) years of doing it. Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

