LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Alcohol Ink Ornaments

on December 20, 2012

I recently treated myself to a crafting supply that I’ve been wanting for ages – alcohol ink! Since it is the holiday season, I just had to find an ornament project that features them.

Tim Holtz, the guru of all things alcohol ink-related, has a video tutorial on the Ranger Ink website for alcohol ink splatter ornaments. These are almost too easy to make. After you gather your supplies, you’ll be able to crank these out in under 5 mins. Better yet, there’s really no way to mess them up. Each one that you create will be unique, and I kind of love that.

Alcohol Ink Ornament

Alcohol Ink Ornament (2)

If you’re looking for a last-minute, hand-made gift for someone on your list, definitely consider these. You might even let the older kids help out. Happy holiday crafting!


2 responses to “Alcohol Ink Ornaments

  1. Sarah says:

    How do you keep your vibrant colors? My coasters turned dull! Thanks!!!
    Sarah

    • Sarah, I have a couple of tips for achieving vibrant colors with alcohol inks. I try to choose the brightest colors. For example, I love Pool, Sunshine Yellow, and Red Pepper. I use my ink sparingly and avoid mixing light and dark colors.. The more ink that ends up on the project the more muddy the colors will likely become. I hope this was helpful!

Leave a comment