LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Alcohol Ink Votive Candle Holder Tutorial

on March 10, 2013

My experimental projects with alcohol inks continue. I’m so in love with the effect they have on glass that I decided to try my hand at making some votive candle holders out of small bowls. Since I’m sharing, let’s consider these a success. They are perfect for the person that appreciates an easy and unique bit of diy home decor. Really, who doesn’t?

Close-Up Lit Alcohol Ink Votive Candle Holders

Supplies:

  • Small Glass Bowls or Votive Holders (you should be able to find these for cheap at either the dollar or craft store)
  • Rubbing Alcohol
  • Alcohol Ink in Various Colors
  • Compressed Air
  • LED Votive Candles

Step One:

Clean the inside of your glass with rubbing alcohol. Yes, the kind in your medicine cabinet. I got this tip from the Ornament Girl. Doing this will not only clean the glass, but it will also help your alcohol ink move more freely when you start applying it.

Step Two:

Start applying the alcohol ink in small amounts to the inside of the glass. I used Cranberry, Pool, and Sunshine Yellow. Spray the alcohol ink with short shots of compressed air to give it a splatter effect. I borrowed this technique from Tim Holtz when I made my Alcohol Ink Ornaments last year. You  absolutely can’t mess this part up because there is no right or wrong end result. Each votive holder that you make will be a unique creation.

Alcohol Ink Votive Candle Holders

Step Three:

Allow the alcohol ink to dry completely. Assuming that you did not apply very thick amounts of it, the alcohol ink should dry quickly. This is one of the best features of alcohol ink.

Step Four:

Turn on your LED votive candles and place them inside the votive holders. I personally chose to use LED candles because I live with two very curious cats that find open flames irresistible.

Lit Alcohol Votive Candle Holders


Leave a comment