LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Easy DIY Felt Flower Brooch

on April 27, 2013

Cardigans are a work wardrobe staple for me. I especially love solid-colored ones because they are perfect for pairing with cute, little brooches and pins. I like looking for vintage brooches at the flea market and thrift stores, but I’ve been thinking that I should try making some myself.

While shopping in the scrapbooking section at the craft store last month, I rediscovered some darling, floral embellishments by Jolee’s Boutique. I’ve seen them before, but I hadn’t considered buying these lovely flowers until I found them on sale. It’s amazing how much more inspiring an item can be for the right price! I chose some grey, felt flowers that are the perfect size for a dainty accessory.

To make a brooch, you will need felt flowers of your own choosing, a strong adhesive, and a round pinback. What you won’t need are any special tools or advanced skills. This accessory is one that any crafter can make!

Supplies

I chose to use Amazing Goop for my adhesive because it likes both fabric and metal. Plus it dries clear. It is always important to read the fine print on an adhesive before buying it. Otherwise your craft that you’ve spent time and money on may not turn out as planned.

First, I carefully removed the adhesive that came attached to the back of the felt flower. I then applied a good amount of Amazing Goop to the pinback and pressed my felt flower onto it. This adhesive needs time to build a strong bond, so plan to allow the brooch at least a day to cure.

Here’s the finished product! I paired it with a navy cardigan because I adore this color combination, probably because it references two my favorite basketball teams – the Memphis Grizzlies and University of Memphis Tigers. This sweet brooch helps me show off a little team spirit without having to wear anything tacky or ugly!

Felt Flower Brooch

Hopefully my felt flower brooch will inspire you to make one of your own. Happy crafting!

One response to “Easy DIY Felt Flower Brooch

  1. I’m a cardigan girl too . . . love these! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

