LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Confessions of a Crafting Shopaholic

on April 13, 2013

Lately I’ve been in a bit of a crafting slump. Since Christmas I’ve found myself creating less and less, but I’ve still been finding and buying supplies. The result is a messy and overflowing table in my craft room. Every time I consider starting a project, the sight of the table and the attention it needs stops me. This morning I set out to clear off the craft table and wound up doing some much-needed spring cleaning and organizing of the whole room.

I’m not proud to admit this, but I’ll fess up anyway – I found supplies that I had totally forgotten about. Not cool. Here are some examples:

  • 1 Bunch of Tan Suede String
  • 2 Packages of Small Hexnuts
  • 3 Altoid Tins
  • 4 Classico Sauce Jars
  • 8 Colors of Pastel Glitter
  • 24 Small Paper Mache Eggs

I couldn’t help but be inspired while looking through all of these lovely treasures. With my stockpile of crafting supplies organized, I made a list of crafts that I had either begun or planned to make out of them. I am by nature a list maker, and I feel more accountable for doing things if I have actually written them down. I also thoroughly enjoy the satisfaction of crossing completed items off the list. This inspiration list will hopefully act as my crafting conscience. For example, I’ve been wanting to experiment with tinting mason jars, which is why I’ve been saving my Classico sauce jars. When next I have some free time, I might peruse my list of crafts and pick that project to try instead of heading to the craft store to search for something new.

The moral of this story is not that you should stop shopping for new and cool supplies, but rather that you should actually do something with the ones you already have. Otherwise people might accuse you of being a crafting hoarder! Plus you won’t feel so guilty about buying new things if you’ve used up what you already have. Happy spring cleaning!

Leave a Reply

