LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

L.O.V.E. Magnet Tutorial

on February 9, 2013

Any time I’m in a thrift store or at a yard sale, I look for board games. I collect them, so that’s my primary motivation. I also like to repurpose board game pieces, especially Scrabble tiles. It just feels wrong to buy a brand new Scrabble for a reason other than playing it. If I find a used one for $3 or under, I’m buying it.

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I made a L.O.V.E. magnet out of Scrabble tiles.

LOVE Magnet

Supplies:

  • L, O, V, E Scrabble Tiles
  • Amazing Goop Craft Glue
  • Toothpick
  • Magnet

Step One:

Glue your Scrabble tiles together. For small projects like this, I use a toothpick to apply my Amazing Goop. I glued the L and O together first and then the V and E to each other. I then joined the two set of letters and left the adhesive to cure overnight.

Step Two:

Glue a magnet to the back of the tiles. This is when you might need to exercise some patience. It is important to let the adhesive cure for at least 48 hrs. Otherwise you’ll have a crafting catastrophe on your hands when you place the magnet on your refrigerator. The magnet will be stuck to the fridge while your lovely craft lies on the floor.

Step Three:

Find the perfect place to display your magnet.

IMG_9781

This project is super easy to put together, but it does require some time for the adhesive to cure. If you’re hoping to gift this for Valentine’s Day, get started this weekend, and you’ll be in good shape for this Thursday. Happy Valentine’s Day crafting!

Leave a Reply

