LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Lock & Key Jewelry

on February 6, 2013

While I was out shopping for supplies for Valentine’s Day decorations, I stopped by the jewelry department in the craft store. I figured since I was already in the store it wouldn’t hurt to take a peak. Apparently it was my lucky day because my favorite Hobby Lobby jewelry collection – Explorer by Traditions – was on sale for 50% off. This collection features funky charms and found object pieces that always inspire me.

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I picked up some lock and key charms. Each pack of these contains 12 pieces in assorted colors, and they retail for only $2.99! It’s almost too good to be true when you can get them on sale. As I paid for them, I was already envisioning the jewelry they would become.

I searched through my beading stash for chains to make a necklace. Luckily I had a copper chain that matched the lock and key charms. First, I attached a lobster claw to one end of the chain and a jump ring to the other. I then slipped both a lock and key charm onto another jump ring and attached it to the chain. It took me longer to get out my supplies than to make the actual necklace! In under 5 mins., I had a cute, little Valentine’s necklace.

Lock and Key Necklace

Since I have an earring addiction, I just had to make a pair with these charms. I decided to go a little funky and make the pair out of one lock and one key. I simply slipped them onto matching earring wires. Again, this was super easy.

Lock and Key Earrings

Both of these jewelry projects are quick and easy, so they are perfect for doing while the little ones are napping.  I also think they are versatile enough to be worn year round. You can certainly expect to see me sporting these darling earrings any time I feel like it! Happy Valentine’s Day crafting!

Leave a Reply

