LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Getting Started with Loom Knitting

on January 17, 2013

Two years ago I decided it was time to learn to knit. Knitting needles intimidated me, especially since I was teaching myself, so I opted to buy a knitting loom instead. At the time, the Provo Craft Knifty Knitter was all the rage with some of the local schools because teachers were assigning math projects that required it. I figured that if kids could knit with a loom so could I.

My initial desire was to make my own scarves, and I bought the Knifty Knitter long loom set. The instructions that come with the Knifty Knitter sets are not that great. I searched around on You Tube and found some instructional videos to get me started. I strongly encourage you to use bulky yarns at first. Otherwise your stitches will be very loose, and your projects might come undone. I learned that the hard way. Once I got the hang of it, I was making scarves left and right. Most people on my list got them for Christmas that year!

Knifty Knitter Long Loom

I got hooked (pun intended!), but I was fairly limited with what I could make on a rectangular loom given the skill set I had. The following Christmas I found a great deal on the Knifty Knitter 4 piece round loom set and just had to buy it. Instead of turning to You Tube for instructions, I thumbed through the knitting books at a craft store and found Isela Phelp’s Loom Knitting Primer. It is so good! If you are new to loom knitting, this is the book to buy. Not only are her instructions wonderful, but Isela also provides great projects with much more diversity than you’ll find contained in any of those Knifty Knitter instruction booklets. After reading the book, I explored her website, and I will tell you that it does not disappoint. Isela offers instructions, videos, and more patterns on it. I liked loom knitting before, but I loved it after discovering Isela. Thanks to her and the Knifty Knitter round looms, I learned new stitches and broadened my project range from scarves to hats and potholders.

Knifty Knitter Round Loom

Frequent readers of the blog know that I am a proud Martha Stewart devotee. When she joined with Lion Brand Yarn to create her own line and loom set, I was thrilled. Her Knit and Weave Loom Kit was at the top of my Christmas wish list that year. With it, you can customize your loom for any project. Your resulting loom might be oval, rectangular, or square depending your needs. I was sad not to find the set under my Christmas tree, but I was lucky enough to receive a gift card that covered the cost of me buying it. The instruction book (not booklet!) that comes with it is wonderful. The instructions are clear and have accompanying photos. It also provides a couple of projects to get you started knitting. The Lion Brand website also has a plethora of free patterns that utilize both Martha Stewart’s yarn and the loom set. If you’re really serious about getting into loom knitting, this set is a wonderful investment.

Martha Stewart Knit and Weave Loom Kit

I really do hope to take a class one day and learn to properly knit with needles. Until then, I’ll keep myself busy coming up with new ideas to try on my looms. Happy loom knitting!

Leave a Reply

