LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Ornament Holiday Cards Tutorial

on December 8, 2012

Since I was a child, I have loved Christmas cards. I remember us receiving them from relatives we hadn’t seen in years and thinking it was so neat that they reached out to us at the holidays. As an adult, I have tried to carry on a tradition of sending cards every year, even those ones when I thought I couldn’t possibly have the time to do so.

I used to pride myself on buying the cutest ones I could find. Over the past few years, I gotten increasingly more involved in making my own. I’ve quickly progressed from stamping the insides of blank cards to making my own embellishments. Chalk it up to working at the craft store or just plain being more crafty than I used to be, but I’m now in a situation where I’m trying to outdo myself!

Because this is my first holiday season owning a paper cutting machine, I felt compelled to use it in the making of my cards. Crafts like this are the reason why I bought it after all! I came up with the idea to create paper ornaments that would not only embellish my cards but could also later adorn the receiver’s tree. Sadly I didn’t take step by step pictures of the process because I honestly wasn’t sure how they would turn out. These cards are straightforward enough that I am confident you can replicate them using my instructions and pictures of the finished product. Happy holiday cardmaking!

Ornament Cards - Preppy

Supplies:

  • Blank Cards and Envelopes
  • Holiday Die-Cuts
  • 1/4 in. Hole Punch
  • 1/8 in. Ribbon
  • Scissors
  • Paper Piercer
  • Brads
  • Stamp
  • Ink Pad

Step One:

Shop for or create your own holiday die-cuts. If you choose to buy them, check out the seasonal scrapbooking section of your local craft store. You should find some great options, but they might be on the small size. If you have access to a paper cutting machine, you’ll be able to choose what size your die-cuts are. I made mine using my Elite Slice machine, Noel design card, scrapbook paper, and cardstock. After Christmas last year, I bought a beautiful paper pad with a 12 Twelve Days of Christmas theme. I picked out various papers and coordinating cardstock to make my ornaments in various shapes and sizes.

Step Two:

Punch a hole in your die-cuts.

Step Three:

Cut your ribbon into pieces about 5 in. long. Thread the ribbon through the holes in your die-cuts and secure them with a knot. Now you have ornaments!

Step Four:

Determine the placement of your ornaments on the cards. While holding the die-cut in place, pierce the paper through the hole you punched in it. Attach the ornament to the card with a brad. If you don’t have a paper piercer, you could simply muscle your brads through the card.

Step Five:

Stamp the insides of your cards. After they dry, you’re ready to address and stamp your lovely hand-made creations!

Ornament Cards - Classic

Ornament Cards - Whimsical

Leave a Reply

