LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Christmas Card “Book”

on December 6, 2012

One of my favorite parts of Christmas is the sending and receiving of cards. In a day and age when so much of our communication is digital, it’s refreshing to get a real piece of mail from friends and family. I especially love photo cards from those that live far away. It’s always fun to see how big the kids have gotten!

My long-time dilemma has been figuring out what to do with the cards once Christmas is over. This year (and likely many in the future!) I’m borrowing an idea from Martha Stewart. She provides a tutorial for making a Holiday Card Scrapbook, which I simplified a bit.

Christmas Card Book

I gathered up all of our cards from last year, cardstock, Christmas scrapbook paper, a glue stick, my paper trimmer, number stickers, a hole punch, and a book ring. To make the cover, I cut a piece of 8 1/2 x 11 in. cardstock in half. I attached a square of pretty Christmas scrapbook paper to the middle and used glitter number stickers to put 2011 in the bottom right corner. I then punched a hole in each card and fed them as well as the front and back cardstock covers through the book ring.

Christmas Card Book- Date Detail

I know have another great Christmas decoration that doubles as a record keeper. While making out my Christmas card list for this year, I thumbed through it to see who sent us one last year. Cute, practical, and simple is hard to pass up!

Leave a Reply

