LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Halloween Banner Tutorial

on October 16, 2012

I love a seasonal banner. I really, really do. They are such a cute way to dress up a mantle or decorate a door. For Halloween, I’ve created this simple and quick banner for my front door. This is a truly fast and easy project. It’s especially great if you are in need of some last-minute Halloween decorations. I hope this banner inspires you to make your own, adding your personal touches to it.

Supplies:

  • Orange Cardstock
  • Black Cardstock
  • Scissors
  • Halloween Embellishments (stickers, die-cuts, etc.)
  • Foam Glue Circles
  • Hole Punch
  • Thin White Ribbon
  • Measuring Tape

Step One:

To make the flags for your Halloween banner, cut triangles out of orange and black cardstock. Mine are 4 in. long. I used my Slice Elite cutter to do this because the Parties! design card has a pennant on it. You could also use a stencil or make your own.

Step Two:

Punch holes in the top corners of your flags. I used my Crop-A-Dile so that I would be able to punch through all four of my flags at once.

Step Three:

Choose which embellishments you want to add to your flags.

Using the Spook Alley design card, I cut Halloween shapes out of orange and black cardstock with my Slice. I wanted them to look a little more special, so I painted glitter glue onto them. Yes, you read that correctly. This is the first time I’ve done that, and it certainly won’t be the last! If you’re not into making your own embellishments, buy some stickers or die-cuts. K & Company always makes the cutest Halloween die-cuts. The center of my banner is one of them. Also check out Martha Stewart Crafts’ Halloween stickers because they are also adorable.

Step Four:

Adhere your embellishments to the flags. I used foam glue dots to add dimension to my banner.

Step Five:

Cut a piece of ribbon 1 1/2 yds. long, and thread your flags onto it.

Leave a Reply

