LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Jar-o-Lanterns

on October 4, 2012

Regardless of your feelings towards Martha Stewart, you have to admit that she knows how to do Halloween right. I, personally, am a long-time Martha devotee, and I share her love of Halloween. When I saw these Jar-o-Lanterns, I knew that I had to make them. My jars entered our home full of pasta sauce, artichokes, and roasted red peppers. Since I started reusing jars, I’ve looked at my groceries in a whole other light!

Martha recommends using an enamel-based paint on the interior of the jars. I used her multi-purpose paints, and the results are okay. It did take the paint a long time to dry. For the pumpkin faces, I opted to make stencils with my Slice Elite cutter and Spook Alley design card instead of her prescribed method because I thought it would be easier.

I taped my stencils to the jars and painted them again with Martha multi-surface paint. Much to my chagrin, the paint peeled off the jars when I removed the stencils. Glass can be really tricky to paint. I taped the stencils back onto the jars and used a Sharpie instead. I’m happy with the results. My stencils were quirky, so my Jar-o-Lanterns have funny faces.

These decorations will be adorable with battery-operated tealights in them. I’ve also seen jars painted as ghosts and monsters. If I am lucky enough to use the contents of more jars before Halloween, I might just try them, too!

Leave a Reply

