LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Wool I-Cord Bangle

on September 19, 2012

One of the easiest and most versatile things to make on a knitting loom is an I-Cord. They can be used as embellishments along hems or as handles to purses. I decided to try to turn an I-Cord into a bracelet using a thick, wool-blend yarn.

I’ve seen lots of yarn bangles on Pinterest, but most of them involve wrapping an actual bangle bracelet. A chunky, wool yarn as an I-Cord is ideal for this project because it will hold its shape well enough to give the illusion of a bangle without actually having to disguise an otherwise cute bracelet. Plus it makes these bangles an excellent fall and winter accessory.

I used Loops & Threads Cozy Wool. If you have trouble finding this yarn, substitute Lion Brand’s Wool-Ease Thick & Quick or another super chunky, wool-blend yarn. You won’t need much of it for these bracelets, so you’ll have enough yarn left over to make a scarf or hat.

To transform this yarn into an I-Cord, you’ll need a knitting loom, knitting tool, and scissors. I used the smallest of the four looms that comes in the standard Knifty Knitter set. Isela Phelps provides an amazing I-Cord tutorial on her website. Almost everything I know about loom knitting I learned from her books and website. I highly recommend checking Isela out if you plan on getting into loom knitting.

Back to our bangle, use her instructions to knit your I-Cord until it reaches 9 in. in length. Bind off the I-Cord, and tie your two ends together with a square knot. Cut off the excess yarn from the ends. From start to finish, you can have a bangle done in well under 30 mins. Once you get the hang of making I-Cords, you might get addicted. The possibilities of what to do with them are nearly limitless!

2 responses to “Wool I-Cord Bangle

  1. These are absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

