LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Paper Covered Pencil Cup

on September 11, 2012

A couple of weeks ago, I set out to make some items from my Map Craftiness Pinterest board. I have a lot of cool ideas waiting for me there, but honestly I don’t need that many things covered with maps right now. I decided to instead try some of them with scrapbooking paper.

One of the pins is Ruby Murray’s tutorial for a cute pencil cup. My craft table has been lacking a proper receptacle for pencils, pens, rulers, etc., so this seemed liked a good idea. Ruby Murray covered a recycled tin can with a vintage map. I chose to cover my former holder of diced tomatoes with this adorable scrapbook paper that I’ve been waiting to use on the “perfect” project. Something that will end up on display is about as perfect a project as I can hope for.

I do have a couple of additional tips to add to Ruby Murray’s tutorial. If you carefully remove the existing label from your can, you’ll have the exact size you’ll need to duplicate with your paper. This saves on some measuring. Another tip I suggest is using Mod Podge for the glue. At this point, you have to know that I use it for most of my crafting adhesive needs.

This has to be one of the easiest and most useful crafts I’ve made in a while. If you set your mind to it, you’ll have this done in 15 minutes. Plus you’ll be doing wonders for our environment by saving one more can from a landfill.

One response to “Paper Covered Pencil Cup

  1. kalfury says:

    what a clever idea, and so simple. I really should make one of these, that way everyone would know where all the pens in the house are.
    Looking forward to your next creation X

Leave a Reply

