LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Painted Washer Necklaces

on September 4, 2012

Sometimes I think I enjoy shopping for jewelry supplies more at the hardware store than the craft store. It’s usually cheaper and allows me the opportunity to repurpose something. This is a win-win in my book.

Looking around on Pinterest for new ideas, I found By Wilma’s tutorial for a DIY Washer Necklace. This necklace is not the pendant-style one with paper glued to a large washer. If you were hoping this was that, check out my post about making those washer necklaces. This necklace looks a bit more refined.

By Wilma only painted one side of her washers, but I chose to do both. In my past experience, washers can tarnish easily. A pretty color is more appealing to me than an ugly gray. I also thinks this makes the necklace more versatile. I had a lot of fun picking out nail polish colors. Since fall will be here soon, I chose colors out of my existing collection that are supposed to be on trend. You can check out the hot fall colors at Pantone’s website. Picking up on seasonal trends through accessories is far more affordable than buying a whole new wardrobe every four months. I finished the pieces of painting a layer of Mod Podge onto the washers. I am hoping (fingers crossed) that this will keep the nail polish from chipping off.

After I made one mosly following By Wilma’s design, I tried another with smaller washers in a different pattern. These necklaces have endless design possibilities. Since they are easy to make and cheap, play around with the shapes and colors. You might just end up with one for every outfit!

3 responses to “Painted Washer Necklaces

  1. kalfury says:

    What a clever idea, these are really lovely and I wouldn’t have realised they were washers if you hadn’t said!

  2. Mrs M says:

    What a fantastic idea!

Leave a Reply

