LulaBelle Handicrafts

the place for crafty inspiration

Olympic Rings Magnet

on August 8, 2012

Last week when I was making my Bottle Cap Flower Magnets, I was thinking about other ideas for our large collection of bottle caps. I should mention that I was also watching the Olympics – shocker! My brain took the next logical step, and I was soon creating an Olympic Rings Magnet made out of bottle caps. Now we have a memento from these Olympics and yet another magnet for our packed refrigerator door!

Supplies:

  • 5 Bottle Caps
  • Rubbing Alcohol
  • Cotton Swabs
  • Blue, Black, Red, Yellow, and Green Paint
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Glue Sticks
  • Magnet
  • E-6000 Adhesive

I first cleaned the insides of five bottles caps with rubbing alcohol and a cotton swab. Then I painted the insides the colors of the Olympic Rings. Because I already had each of the five colors I needed, I used acrylic craft paints. Enamel paints or even nail polish would also work well. I gave them each two coats of paint. I then hot glued the bottle caps together in the correct color placement and added some extra glue to the backside for additional stability. Lastly I attached a magnet to the back with E-6000 and let it dry overnight. I suppose you could attach the magnet with hot glue, but I prefer the superior holding strength of E-6000. This project is easy enough to complete while watching an evening of Olympic competition. Plus the kids could definitely help out with the painting!

Leave a Reply

